Motor City Runner

Wanted To Be Upside Down

Posted on: July 24, 2011

Yesterday was day 5 of half marathon training.  It was a nice easy 5 mile run.  I felt really good through most of it.  At mile 4.5 though, I was starting to get a little sluggish so I just cranked up the music and prayed to God to finish.  As soon as I was done, my head started spinning.  I had a Larabar before my run, so maybe I just need to eat a little more before I run?  I’ll figure it out I’m sure.  My post run fuel was a wonderful banana (enter Gwen Stefani song here 🙂 )

~~~~~~~~~~~~

After that, I had a coupon to cash in

Who doesn’t want free undies from this place?!?!  Victoria’s Secret OWNS me!!

From there it was a grad party and then B. E. D for this girl

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Todays Workout

When I went to the gym this morning, I knew I wanted to do something different.  I have been eyeballing a pyramid workout for quite a while so I decided today was the day.

Squats-2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16,18,20,18,16,14,12,10,8,6,4,2

Pull Ups-1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1

Push Ups-1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1

Elbow Planks (in seconds)-5,10,15,20,25,30,35,40,45,50,45,40,35,30,25,20,15,10,5 

I really enjoyed doing something different, but I found myself getting a little bored after a while.  Also, my back started really hurting near the end, so I took out some of the elbow planks and replaced them with side planks.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Since today is Sunday, that means I was a baking machine 🙂  I was originally going to make cookies, but we have two HUGE boxes already, so at the last-minute I decided to skip that and make Pineapple Upside Down Cake.  I’m not a huge cake fan, but Matt is.  Let me tell ya, this was to die for.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 can (14-16 oz.) crushed pineapple (juice reserved)

2 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

Directions

Melt butter in sauce pan.  Stir in brown sugar

Poor in bottom of 8*8 baking dish.  Spread 1 cup of pineapple over brown sugar mixture.

Bake at 275* while making cake batter

Beat eggs sugar and vanilla until nicely mixed.  Add flour, baking powder, and salt.  Mix together.  Stir in reserved pineapple juice.

Remove dish from over.  Bring temperature to 350*.  Pour cake batter over pineapple mixture.  Bake for 40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool and then flip upside down onto a plate!!

Before flip

 

After flip

I *might* have taste tested a little bit from the corner.  Maybe.

This cake got the royal treatment.  It’s sitting on some of my wedding gift china….that has never been used until today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m off to enjoy another piece of cake.  Back to the grind tomorrow!!

Question of the night:

What is something you enjoy baking? I like to bake anything, but I especially like doing cakes.

3 Responses to "Wanted To Be Upside Down"

Love anything Victoria’s Secret! I also love anything cake related! 🙂 Sooo I’m jealous of your day!

The cake looks good, April! I emailed you about a guest post on my blog runningwithmascara.com but I think it might have went to your spam! Feel free to write me back via email or comment as we’d love to feature you and your blog!

[…] ….and an even yummier Pineapple Upside Down Cake  […]

Leave a Reply

Hey there!! I'm April. I'm the writer here at Motor City Runner. I'm 26 years old and have a passion for running, all things fitness, healthy eating (most of the time), and everything sweet!! I am also training for my first half marathon. Feel free to stick around and watch as I make the journey to 13.1 miles!!

Archive

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

