Motor City Runner

Half Marathon Here I Come

Posted on: July 15, 2011

Yesterday, I officially started training for a half marathon.  The one I plan on doing is on October 2nd.  It’s called The Brooksie Way.  I’m a little nervous about it.  I’ve heard its pretty hilly at parts, but I know I can do it!!

I’m loosely using two different plans, so I won’t post the specific site.  I don’t want to confuse myself.  🙂  That’s easy to do….trust me. 

Recap of Half Training Day 1:

I wasn’t able to get on here yesterday, but this is what I did:  2 miles of speedwork.  I did it on a treadmill since it was Wednesday.  I always run on the ole tready on Wednesdays.  It was quick and easy.  Just the way I like it!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Back To Today

Usually my mornings start with coffee and usually fruit (although coffee keeps me VERY full for quite a while).  However, it was this kind of day today

With a nice, big side of Diet Pepsi to go with it

I’m not going to lie, I’ve drunk WAY TOO MUCH POP THIS WEEK.  After Saturday, I must limit my pop intake.

For dinner, my inner child came out

I never tell myself I can’t have something because that will only make me want it even more.  So, when I do want something that isn’t exactly “healthy” for me, I limit it.  A Happy Meal is just perfect for me.  Random fact:  I ordered a regular Coke with this because I didn’t want the teller to think I was giving a child Diet Coke.  😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Half Training Day 2

I don’t usually run two days in a row.  I don’t want to injure myself.  However, up here in The Mitten, it’s beautiful.  I was going to do weights at the gym, but it was way too nice.  So I switched it up a little and ran outside today.  The weights will still be at the gym tomorrow morning; I’m sure of it.

A 3 mile run was what I did today.  Flat out, it was a hard run.  My breathing was all over the place.  I think I know a few of the reasons why: 1.)  I had to pee 2.)I had just eaten dinner.  Even though I didn’t get a cramp, I felt like I had 30 pounds of rocks in my stomach 3.)I was holding a water bottle.  I hate holding stuff when I run, but I don’t have a fuel belt yet and I DIE of thirst when I run.  I almost threw it in the road, but I didn’t want to litter.  Ya know??

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Question of the night?

What are steps you take to guarantee you have a good run?

2 Responses to "Half Marathon Here I Come"

[…] Been There, Read That Half Marathon Here I Come […]

[…] was day 5 of half marathon training.  It was a nice easy 5 mile run.  I felt really good through most of it.  At mile 4.5 though, I […]

Leave a Reply

Hey there!! I'm April. I'm the writer here at Motor City Runner. I'm 26 years old and have a passion for running, all things fitness, healthy eating (most of the time), and everything sweet!! I am also training for my first half marathon. Feel free to stick around and watch as I make the journey to 13.1 miles!!

Archive

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

