Motor City Runner

My First 5k and it’s Baking Sunday!!

Posted on: July 11, 2011

Yesterday was my first 5k and I had such a great time!!  I was a little antsy leading up to it.  It wasn’t the distance so much as it was that….well….I didn’t want to be last 🙂 I’m not a real fast runner, so I was sure I was going to embarrass myself in front of people I knew 😉 Call that selfish, but it’s true.  So….how did I do you wonder??  Well, I was hoping to do it in under 30 minutes; my official time was 28:38!!!!  I am so proud of myself for that time.  My per minute mile was 9:14.  I had never even done that before.  The fastest I had done by myself was 10:00/mile.  I definitely owe it to the whole atmosphere.

Before Race

The race was right through an apple orchard which was pretty cool.

After race

Matt didn’t get a picture of me at the finish line.  Rude!!  What was he thinkin’? 😉  He did get a picture of me getting my time chip clipped off

Sportin’ the Bondi Band!!

All in all, it was a great race and I ran it with some pretty cool people 🙂  I think I will run this again next year just because it is such a fun run.

After, we went to a BBQ at those pretty cool people’s house.  You better believe I took full advantage of their pool too!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Since it’s Sunday, you know what that means…..I baked today.  I found a recipe for Oatmeal Brownie Gems and was immediately intrigued.  Oatmeal, brownies, and M&M’s all in one?  Yes please.

Ingredients

2 2/3 cups old-fashioned oats

1 cup flour

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 tsp. baking soda

1 cup butter-melted

1 3/4 cup M&M mini semi sweet baking chips

1 package brownie mix prepared for fudge like brownies

Directions

Preheat oven to 350

Combine oats, flour, sugar, nuts, and baking soda

Add butter until mixture forms coarse crumbs

Toss in mini M&M’s and mix to distribute evenly

Reserve 3 cups of this mixture

Put remaining mix onto bottom of 15*10*1 inch pan to form a crust <—- pay attention to the pan size.  I did NOT and ended up with very thick bars.  Still good, but thick.

Pour prepared brownie mix over that and spread out very thin.  Sprinkle rest of oatmeal mixture on top and pat down

Bake 25-30 minutes

Cool completely and cut into bars. 

The nutrition facts aren’t awful either, which is a bonus.

Since I didn’t pay attention to the pan size and got thick bars, you are not getting a picture of mine.  For your viewing pleasure, you will be presented with a pretty picture from the website.

(Source)

 Well, I’m out!!  Back to the grind tomorrow!!

Question of the night:

What is one of your favorite sweet treats?

1 Response to "My First 5k and it’s Baking Sunday!!"

Leave a Reply

Hey there!! I'm April. I'm the writer here at Motor City Runner. I'm 26 years old and have a passion for running, all things fitness, healthy eating (most of the time), and everything sweet!! I am also training for my first half marathon. Feel free to stick around and watch as I make the journey to 13.1 miles!!

Archive

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

