Motor City Runner

Getting Antsy….

Posted on: July 7, 2011

So my first official run is on Saturday.  I’m not going to call it a race, because well, I just want to finish it.  It’s only a 5k.  I’m comfortable with the distance, I’ve just never done an official “race” before.  Also, I’m running it with people I know and I just hope I don’t make a fool of myself 🙂

Well, enough about that

~~~~~~~~~~~~

There are times that I hate technology and yesterday was one of them.  I got on the old comp to write a post and it was all funked up, so I turned it off and hit the sack.  Yesterday started with this

"Well good morning to ya"

Yes it’s true.  I am a huge coffee drinker.  I actually stopped for a few months because I drank too much one night and get really sick from it.  Now that it’s back though, I’m a much happier person.  Just ask Matt.

My workout yesterday was a 3.1 mile indoor run.  On Wednesdays, I always run on the treadmill at the gym. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Little tidbit about me: I’m a huge reader.  I will read the phone book if you put it in front of me.  On my lunch break, I went to the library to see what I can find.  I really want to read The Hunger Games and The Help, but there is a 2+ month waiting list.

Why don’t I just buy them you ask?  Well, as much as I love to read, I hate spending an ungodly amount on something that I will read once.  I feel the same way about greeting cards.  Don’t expect one from me unless I’m in a mush mush mood.  Then I will get you one and make you cry with what I write inside.  Way off subject here….focus….back to books.  I borrow books from people or the library.  It just gives me the heebejeebies.  That is one of my problems with getting a Kindle.  I don’t buy books. 

Well ,the point of this is that I started this book yesterday

I’m sure we have all seen the movie.  I love the movie, so I wanted to read the book.  In my opinion, books are always better than the movies.  Verdict so far: awesome!!  I can tell it’s going to be a quick read.  I don’t want to put it down.  I am going to put a tab on this blog for book reviews.  Reading is one of my biggest passions. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

So my workout today was an upper body session.  I love doing strength sessions.  It looked something like this:

Push up-15

Jumping Jacks-45 seconds

Tricep Dips-15

Reverse Fly-15

Jump Rope-45 seconds

Hammer Curls-15

I did this circuit style so I completed this three times.  I followed it up with 15 minutes on the stationary bike while I caught up on blogs on the iPhone.

It was fairly easy, but it got me sweatin’.

Well I’m off to read my book, so it’s question time

Question of the night:

Any good running songs?  I’m getting my iPod shuffle ready and need some ideas. –I have a ton of songs I love running to, but I’m always open to new ideas!!

 

1 Response to "Getting Antsy…."

Leave a Reply

Hey there!! I'm April. I'm the writer here at Motor City Runner. I'm 26 years old and have a passion for running, all things fitness, healthy eating (most of the time), and everything sweet!! I am also training for my first half marathon. Feel free to stick around and watch as I make the journey to 13.1 miles!!

Archive

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

