Motor City Runner

Pop Cupcakes

Posted on: July 4, 2011

Hey guys!  Hope your Saturday is going well.  This girl did not wake up until 12:00 pm.  I haven’t done that since high school.  Clearly, I needed the rest. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last night, was pretty chill.  We watched a movie and I stuffed my face with popcorn.  Matt doesn’t like popcorn, so the whole bag was mine.

Two words: Ryan Reynolds!!  That movie was hilarious
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Since I slept so late, the gym didn’t happen because they were closing at 1:00 pm for the holiday.  Boo.  So instead I went to the kitchen and made cupcakes.
I got this idea from Courtney’s page and I know a few people who make cakes like this.
 
Orange Pop Cupcakes
1 box french vanilla cake box
12 ounces diet orange pop
1 egg white
 
Mix ingredients together
Bake according to instructions on box
It’s that easy
 
While those were baking, I decided to try my hand at homemade frosting.  I also found this on Courtney’s page, but made one change.
 
Homemade Vanilla Buttercream Frosting
3 cups confectioners sugar
1 stick of butter softened
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
Blend with a blender until desired consistency
 
The change I made was I did not put milk in it.  I did it with the first batch and got an ooey gooey mess

I was determined to make it work so I redid it without the milk and it came out much better

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well after all that and a gazillion bites from this

I decided I should run some of it off.  I don’t usually run two days in a row, but I needed a “fix” so I did 25 minutes of sprinting.  I put a playlist on my iPhone and ran with the verses and sprinted on the choruses.  PHEW.  I was sweatin’ like a monkey when I was done.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, I’m jamming to HANSON right now (Don’t hate….I still love these boys), so I’m out.

Question of the night:

Have you ever cooked/baked something that came out a disaster the first time?

1 Response to "Pop Cupcakes"

[…] Made some yummy Orange Pop Cupcakes…. […]

Leave a Reply

Hey there!! I'm April. I'm the writer here at Motor City Runner. I'm 26 years old and have a passion for running, all things fitness, healthy eating (most of the time), and everything sweet!! I am also training for my first half marathon. Feel free to stick around and watch as I make the journey to 13.1 miles!!

Archive

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

