Motor City Runner

My Shoulders Are Screaming!!

Posted on: July 1, 2011

Thursdays are a weight day for me.  I always go to the gym in the morning, but there was a total body conditioning class at 5:30 this afternoon, so I signed up and basked in the wonderfulness that is sleeping in until 6:40 a.m.  (wow, that was a long sentance 😉 ). 

I got there a little early, so I decided to do a few miles on the treadmill.  I was getting a little nervous because I didnt see anyone walking to the fitness room.  I DID NOT want to be the only one in the class.  I non chalantly checked it out and there was one other person in there!  SCORE!!!!  About 20 minutes in, another person showed up.  I really liked the fact that it basically ended up being like a personal training session for free 🙂 

We did some ab work first, then 5 circuits that were each two minutes in length.  That consisted of jumping on a step (4 rises up), stability ball chest fly/press, jumping on a step again, bicep curls, then stability ball presses.  My shoulders were screaming.  After that, we did lunges with the  bar.  Ahhhh.  My right knee is kind of bad, so that didn’t go over well.  We did all of this twice.  Oh boy.  I’m feeling it, but I love the way my arms look after lifting weights.

A hot, sweaty mess leaving the gym

I also have no shame.  I was sweating like a monkey during the class and immediately after, I met Matt for dinner and had a grilled chicken salad….while still in sweaty workout clothes.  Too bad.  I’ll never see those people again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~
Speaking of our salad, we always share a big one.  It’s our thing.   So we order our salad and enjoy it.  I am literally at the last couple of bites (I always eat more than half), when what would appear?
A SPIDER!! 
Now, I am not usually one to complain, but I draw a line at live bugs in my food.  We were so grossed out and upset.  We eat at this restaurant quite a bit.  The manager comes out and explains the process of lettuce cleaning and chopping( REALLY DUDE??  I DON”T CARE HOW YOU CUT UP LETTUCE !!!!)  Needless to say, dinner was free.
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Well, I’m out.  Hope everyone has a good holiday weekend.  Be safe!!
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Question of the night:
Have you ever had a gross experience at a restaurant?
 
 
1 Response to "My Shoulders Are Screaming!!"

Love challenging workouts like that!!! And I am notorious for hanging out and going places in my sweaty clothes way more than needed. Hey. I only have so much time in a day and showering sometimes has to wait. 😉

Leave a Reply

Hey there!! I'm April. I'm the writer here at Motor City Runner. I'm 26 years old and have a passion for running, all things fitness, healthy eating (most of the time), and everything sweet!! I am also training for my first half marathon. Feel free to stick around and watch as I make the journey to 13.1 miles!!

Archive

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

